St Berteline's Church of England Primary School



Safeguarding Statement

St Berteline's Church of England Primary School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment.

- This means that we have Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy and procedures in place. All staff (including supply staff, volunteers and governors) must ensure that they are aware of these procedures
- We welcome and provide opportunities for pupils to express their views and feelings.
 Opportunities are available via the curriculum, school council, through accessibility to all staff.
- St Berteline's C of E Primary School provides training to all staff in relation to safeguarding and protection of young people in line with intervals laid out in the national regulation and guidance.
- St Berteline's C of E Primary School has recruitment procedures that support the safeguarding of children.
- Sometimes we may need to share information and work in partnership with other agencies when there are concerns about a child's welfare. We will ensure that our concerns about our pupils are discussed with his/her parents/carers first unless we have reason to believe that such a move would be contrary to the child's welfare.

Our Designated Safeguarding leads are:

Mrs Sheridan Moss Headteacher





Mr Andrew O'Neill Deputy Head

We also have a Governor with Safeguarding responsibility: Mrs Lesley Austin

- If you are concerned about a child's welfare, please record your concern, and observations or conversation heard, and report it to one of the Child Protection members of staff as soon as possible the same day. DO NOT conduct your own investigation.
- If your concern relates to the actions or behaviour of a member of staff (which could suggest he/she is unsuitable to work with children) then you should report this to the Senior Designated Person (or deputy in their absence), who will consider what action to take. If the concern relates to the Headteacher refer the matter to the Chair of Governors: Mrs Lesley Austin.